When you are in a bookstore….

So it happened, usually does a couple times a month (ok maybe several times a month.) But I slipped into one of my favorite places around me to try and find a comfy place to finish my book. A few things happened during then that were expected, and unexpected.

First off, I didn’t manage to finish the book. A shame as I have been looking forward to posting the review on it for a while now. But the ending must be known! Next week, it will me just me, the book, and the computer working together.

Secondly, I bought two other books which was expected since one. I was there, and two, book money was in my possession. What books did I buy you say? Well earlier do you remember me mentioning that I seem to have a habit of buying books of a new series that I do not have yet? Guess what? I resisted and stuck to the game plan! Twice!

It was hard, and I will lovingly blame some of you for this because of the other wonderful reviews I read here. The covers, the words, they speak to me sometimes. But with this triumph I am sure you are wondering just what I purchased right? Ok, ok enough delaying the inevitable then. Let us get this over with so I can quietly drool while looking at them in my chair.

Academ’s Fury

#2 in the Codex Alera Series by Jim Butcher


For centuries, the people of Alera have relied on the power of the furies to protect them from outside invaders. But the gravest threat might be closer than they think.

Tavi has escaped the Calderon Valley and the mysterious attack of the Marat on his homeland. But he is far from safe, as trying to keep up the illusion of being a student while secretly training as one of the First Lord’s spies is a dangerous game. And he has not yet learned to use the furies, making him especially vulnerable.

When the attack comes it’s on two fronts. A sudden strike threatens the First Lord’s life and threatens to plunge the land into civil war. While in the Calderon Valley, the threat faced from the Marat is dwarfed by an ancient menace. And Tavi must learn to harness the furies if he has any chance of fighting the greatest threat Alera has ever known . . .

I loved the first book and can’t wait to get started on this. Jim Butcher is a wonderful writer! *Said from someone who may or may not have books from all of his series.*

Shadow’s Edge

#2 in the Night Angel Series by Brent Weeks

Kylar Stern has rejected the assassin’s life. The Godking’s successful coup has left Kylar’s master, Durzo, and his best friend, Logan, dead. He is starting over: new city, new friends, and new profession. 

But when he learns that Logan might actually be alive and in hiding, Kylar is faced with an agonizing choice: will he give up the way of shadows forever and live in peace with his new family, or will he risk everything by taking on the ultimate hit?

Another great series with amazing characters. If you love plots and twists you may want to look into this as well.


Let me know if you have already read these two and your thoughts. (No spoilers please!) Reviews to come when I get to these two beauties!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started