Halfway to Reading Goal

When you are checking your Goodreads account during your lunch break and end up doing a double take because of what you see. It must be due to something good right? After tapping the screen and refreshing a few times to make sure I wasn’t dreaming. The only logical conclusion I am left with is that I truly am half way through my 2019 reading goal!

Life has been very hectic this past week and apparently staying up late to try and finish the latest book has paid off. See? Reading late into the night really is a good thing!

Now what books have I read so far you ask?

Let’s do this in order shall we?



1) Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #1)
by Rick Riordan

2) Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

3) The Innocent Man by John Grisham

4) The Black Book by James Patterson

5) A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

6) Dune by Frank Herbert

7) Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

8) The Rooster Bar by John Grisham

9) Iron and Blood by Gail Z. Martin

10) The Lives of Tao by Wesley Chu



(Deep breath, just a few more now.)


11) The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

12) Mortal Engines by Philip Reeve

13) The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson

14) Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence

15) The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan

16) Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher

17) Predator’s Gold (Mortal Engines #2) by Philip Reeve

18) Magician: Apprentice by Raymond E Feist

19) The Shadow of What was Lost by James Islington

20) Magician: Master (Riftwar Saga #2) by Raymond E Feist

As you may have noticed, there were a few that were either sequels to a series or from the same author. Proof that I do not always read books from new series all of the time! Shocking!

Now considering others have done so in the past, I suppose I can toss my hat in to this to on my top 5 best and worsts.


Top 5 best books:
Dune
The Lies of Lock Lamora
Magician:Apprentice & Master
Hobbit
Furies of Calderon or The Way of Kings

(Yes I know, technically that is more than 5 but tough! You try to pick the best from your literacy brethren and see what happens.)


On the other side of the coin however…..

Top 3 worst books:
The Innocent Man (shudders)
A Game of Thrones
Red Queen

(Yes, I couldn’t pick 5 for this. To be fair, they are not the worst books ever, just out of the 20 that were read so far this year.)

None of these are in a true order within their categories (with the exception of The Innocent Man. Which I will go into detail about later.) I rarely find books that I just cannot get into and for the most part. Each one of these were wonderful in their own rights and were enjoyed at the time of reading within my hands.

Some I may continue there series, some I may not. I do not rush that decision as I love to complete series and read them all of the way through. But at the end of the year we shall see if I forgo any or not. It’s just too early to say one way or another.

Don’t worry, the book reviews for these are coming soon! Love or hate I enjoy sharing my thoughts with every one of my readers. If you saw a book listed here that you want to read the review sooner rather than later let me know and I will be happy to see about bumping it up the list!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started