What must you have while reading?

We all have our little ideal checklists for optimum reading, and then the ones that will least allow us to read whenever and where ever we want. Sitting in my spot this morning made me wonder just what do you do when all is right in the world with a book in your hands? And when life is chaotic and the books are still whining for attention.

For myself, my ideal check list boils down to just a few simple things which still mean world to me:

A comfy place near a window….

The natural sunlight I will take over a reading lamp any day. Nature’s own reading light is perfect when added with a place you feel content, relaxed, and comfortable. In the morning I will open the window just so I can hear the singing of birds which I find to be very soothing and a great reason to wake up in the mornings.

Though if the temperature is right, moving outdoors to read is always an option too. Just one that I don’t always have the time for…yet.

Music and background noise

Besides the sweet notes of little birdies, a quiet room doesn’t suit me. If it is too quiet, my mind may wander to what I need to do soon, or I will pick up on the noise I do not want to hear. Like neighbors going in and out of their car or such. Music playing in the background is wonderful, the melodies playing just help to make everything around me feel ‘just right.’

I do not always listen to music however, for there is this other little gem that I have found to be AMAZING when I am reading a book. With ear buds in, ambient sounds can really make you feel you are right there with the characters in the book. When I really want to immerse myself into the story: https://www.ambient-mixer.com is my go to place to set the scene. You can make your own background noise mixes too which are great. What have I mixed for me? Which ones are my favorite? I’ll tell you later, promise.

A hot cup of tea…yes please!

I always have been a tea lover, and if you prefer coffee. Know that I have nothing against a cup of coffee either. I just do not drink the roasted beans often.

With so many different kinds of tea, and yes I have many kinds here. There is at least 2 or 3 that I can chose from to help set the mood and let me relax. I tend to lean more towards herbal teas for this, however, if you put a cup of Irish Breakfast in front of me? You will not get it back, your best course of action would be to sit down and just read with me. I might share…maybe.

Reality says…

I can’t always have everything that I want. It’s annoying when I just want to spend the day reading but, there is that pesky thing known as work and bills that can’t be ignored. If I can’t have everything I want for optimum reading. Then fine, just give me the book and let me get through a few pages when I can.

I’ll eat something with a book in my hand during lunch at work, read during breaks, and when I can at night after dinner is done. The background noise will suffice where I am, drinking water is fine, and as long as my seat isn’t uncomfortable. I’ll make it work.

If I have a book, above all else, that is all I need.



So what about you? What do you ideally need and what can you get by with in a pinch? Leave a comment below so we can share and share alike!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started