Screen vs Pages: Mortal Engines

We have all heard it before, the opinions of the many siding one way or another on which is better: The book or the movie. No answer is ever exactly right, we will always stand by our opinions until proven otherwise. With that in mind, the weighing in on this battle will be based on my personal opinion and only that. Take it or leave it, it is what it is.

Books usually do have much more details than the movies just because a single movie would last several hours if they filmed it exactly word for word out of the book itself. This will never change, no matter how I insist otherwise with some.

With Mortal Engines, I actually watched the movie first before the book. It doesn’t happen often; but I will at least give myself credit for doing the research afterwards to see if it was a book. Adding it to my collection asap I might add. The movie was well done and explained things pretty clearly in my opinion. I was not left with more questions than answers in the end which is a relief. On the flip side, the book went as most do, far deeper down into the engines that it took me by surprise and left me asking.

“Wait…WHY wasn’t this in the movie?!”

Sound familiar?

So which one was better? The film or the pages? For myself, the answer was:
Pages by delivering a total knock out!

However there is a twist to this that came to me after watching the movie again recently. You see, the book and the movie, in this rare case. Actually compliment each other. I know, I know, this is crazy… and inconceivable even!

But it is true I tell you! The movie in this case, for what it did film out of the book. Actually helped present the images and other side of the coin as it were. From chase scenes that show us how complex trying to survive really is, to the stalker. I was amazed and found myself pausing the film several times to reference the book and determine if the difference was catastrophic or pleasantly present. 9/10 times the cross reference results were leaving me with a smile and an additional reason to fall further into the glorious world the author originally created.

The second book in the series I am sincerely hoping turns into a movie as well. Though from the little research I have done. There is no definitive answer just yet. Suppose I need to take my bag of pennies and find a wishing well then! More to come later about the second book, and the first book’s thoughts and reviews at a later time.

Admittedly I did my very best to not give out any spoilers. Though I badly, badly, wanted to just to let it all spill out. I would love to hear your thoughts about the book, movie, or both! I do not bite and pretty sure there isn’t a hidden blade in my boot. So you should be safe. Comments are always appreciated.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started